The History of Our University

Gebze Technical University (GTU) was established upon the foundations and experience of Gebze Institute of Technology (GIT) with the decree dated 4 November 2014 of the Grand National Assembly of Türkiye, inheriting and embracing GIT's 22-year heritage. With its infrastructure, capacity, and academic staff, GTU is one of the young but experienced universities of Türkiye, set to become the most prominent scientific hub of the country.

In 1994-1995 Academic Year, Gebze Technical University (then GIT) started offering graduate education first under the Institute of Natural and Applied Sciences, with a total of 80 students in graduate programs including Electronics Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Chemistry, Biology, and Management. In 1995-1996 Academic Year, graduate programs in Computer Engineering, Physics, Architecture, and City and Regional Planning were started; in 1996-1997 Academic Year, graduate programs in Geodesy and Photogrammetry Engineering and Energy Systems Engineering were started; in 1997-1998 Academic Year, the graduate program in Mathematics was started; and in 1999-2000 Academic Year, the graduate program in Earthquake and Structural Engineering was started. In 2001-2002 Academic Year, the Institute of Social Sciences was established, and in the following years, PhD programs in the abovementioned fields and interdisciplinary thesis and non-thesis master's programs were started to meet the industry's needs. As the institution's name was changed into "Gebze Technical University" in 2014, seven new institutes were established, and of them, the Institute of Nanotechnology and the Institute of Biotechnology started offering graduate education in the same year. 

Gebze Technical University started its undergraduate education in 2001-2002 academic year at the Faculty of Engineering, Departments of Computer Engineering and Electronics Engineering. In 2002-2003 academic year, the Department of Materials Science and Engineering and the Department of Mathematics and Physics of the Faculty of Science, in 2008-2009 academic year, the Department of Business Administration and the Department of Architecture of the Faculty of Architecture, in 2010-2011 academic year, the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics of the Faculty of Science, in 2016-2017 academic year, the Department of Environmental Engineering, In the 2017-2018 academic year, Civil Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Bioengineering, Mapping Engineering, Urban Regional Planning and Economics departments, in the 2020-2021 academic year, Industrial Engineering, Management Information Systems, in the 2021-2021 academic year, and in the 2021-2022 academic year, the Faculty of Aeronautics and Astronautics Department of Aeronautical Engineering started to offer undergraduate education. 

Gebze Technical University started to provide associate degree education in the 2023-2024 academic year with the Cyber Security Vocational School Cyber Security Analyst and Operator Department.

Since its establishment, Gebze Technical University has continued its efforts to provide higher quality education and research, and has gained a new status by being accepted as one of Turkey's 10 research universities with the statement made by the President at the opening of the 2017-2018 academic year. 

Gebze Technical University continues its education in 1 associate degree programme of 1 vocational school, 22 undergraduate programmes of 5 faculties and 50 postgraduate master's and doctoral programmes of 9 institutes.

As of 2024, Gebze Technical University provides education with a total of 10576 students with 28 Associate Degree, 7124 Undergraduate, 2637 Postgraduate, 787 Doctorate students and a total of 766 academicians with 125 Professors, 74 Associate Professors, 122 Dr. Lecturers, 126 Lecturers, 319 Research Assistants.


Establishment Announcements of GIT and GTU in the
Official Gazette of the Republic of Turkey:

We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. For more information on cookies, you can view our cookie policy. Please click here for more information. I agree